The San Fabiano castle is situated 1 km from Monteroni d'Arbia (12 km from Siena) and completely isolated in the countryside.
The existence of houses that constituted the "curtis" along with the church dedicated to St. Fabian and St. Sebastian, is attested since 867 in the act of donation issued by the Earl of Siena Guinigi for his monastery of Fontebona (today Berardenga). In 1200 the village was home to a small town.
This is definitely a big brick building built in several periods. The original block is a massive rectangular tower with a ramp slope based on high and crowned by elegant trefoil arches on shelves in a pyramid upside down, above the battlements interspersed with arched windows and covered by a pavilion roof. The turrets on the top corner of the south side of that tower are eighteenth-century additions. The castle was used by the Angioini as a post for the long journey from Naples to Paris. Since 1600 was owned by the Forteguerri, one of whose descendant, in 1800, brought him a dowry when she married the Marquis Bichi Ruspoli.Subsequently changed hands several times until the last century when the Counts Fiorentini bought it to make their country residence with hunting.
The architect Fiorentino Fiorentini, current owner, has transformed the Castle and its english garden in a charming home for charm hospitality and prestigious events.
Via di San Martino 1000/A - 53014 Monteroni d'Arbia - Siena (SI)
+39 0577 374682 - +39 0577 374682 Fax - +39 340 2509204
http://www.sanfabianosiena.com (56 click)