Palazzo di Camugliano in Florence
In Old Town di Firenze, between Santa Maria Novella and via Tornabuoni, Palazzo Niccolini Bourbon dates back to the sixteenth century. The Palazzo di Camugliano is located on the main floor and overlooks a wonderful roof garden where you can relax after a day in the city.
Dwelling town of the Marchesi Niccolini from Camugliano the building has been carefully restored to offer a unique and old-fashioned hospitality.
Comfort high-quality sumptuous furnishings frescoes, stucco and precious fabrics will make the stay in Florence an unforgettable experience.
The two dining rooms and the old kitchens are available to guests for convivial or social occasions Relax; in these rooms breakfast is served in the morning: a selection of cold meats and cheeses from a small farm outside Florence, fresh fruit, pastries and croissants as well as freshly cooked dishes. The personalized and personalized service ensures that the guest can experience the Palazzo as his Florentine home.
Great care has been taken to preserve the soul of the Palace, so that the guest can feel welcomed in a noble residence full of history and charm. The five o'clock tea, the welcome drink and the aperitif of the seven will accompany the flow of your Florentine day.
The structure has maintained its original appearance as it has not been modified but only adapted to the new function. The Palace is composed of 10 rooms all distributed on the main floor, divided into 2 Suite with private access to the hanging garden, 3 Junior Suite, 5 Deluxe rooms and a Flat located on the mezzanine floor of the building. Each of the rooms previously had its own function, among the Junior Suites the Red Canopy was the room where the piano was and there was the ballroom, while the Stucchi, characterized by the particular ceiling with the coat of arms of the Niccolini family in the center and at the four corners the coats of arms of the four wives of the four Marquises who have followed one another starting from Caterina PriceLorenzo's wife was the palace's dining room. Among the Deluxe rooms there is the Camera delle Stelle which was originally the family chapel, a place where baptisms and engagements were celebrated and where offers from the countryside were left. Among the other Deluxe there is the Red China which was born as a twin room with the two antique canopy beds and the precious marble bathroom. The apartment was instead the archive of the Palace, a place where all the documents of the Niccolini family were kept, now moved to another area of the Palace.
The history of Palazzo di Camugliano
Between 1500 al 1532 the family of the From Sommaia he bought from Pollini and by Federighi the various buildings that were located where our building now stands. Over the years, always on behalf of the same family, there were works of transformation and unification of the old pre-existing houses.
Of the original structure, at least externally, there are no appreciable traces as the family was extinct in the early seventeenth century, the property was purchased by the Bourbon del Monte Saint Mary, which enlarged it with the purchase of other neighboring houses, radically changing both the external facades and the distribution of interior spaces. This phase is also due to the realization of the rare hanging garden. The building was then purchased in the 1863 dai Niccolini, which promoted some changes and above all adapted the interiors to the taste of time, without however interfering with the seventeenth-century character of the building. Important restoration and consolidation works were conducted in the 1964.
The structure is located inside a noble building built in the 1400 which before being bought by the Marquises Niccolini di Camugliano in the 1863 was owned by other noble families. Inside i ceilings they are almost five and a half meters tall, some are frescoed and others are coffered entirely painted, the furnishings are the original ones of the family of the marquises Niccolini di Camugliano which, contrary to what often happens in many historic houses transformed into hotels, have not upset the interior design. The marquises lived here until the 1980, when they moved to the country estate in Camugliano, about thirty kilometers southeast of Pisa, about sixty kilometers from Florence to the northeast, in a massive building with four corner towers, a monumental staircase on the front surrounded by a well-cultivated countryside where the marquises took pleasure and still delight in hunting.
In the palace there are two huge paintings depicting two representatives of the Niccolini family who were cardinals. One is the cardinal Agnolo Niccolini (1502 - 1567), a trusted man Medici duke Cosimo I, ambassador to Siena from 1547 and then, from 1557, first governor of the city. Widowed widower in the 1550, Agnolo was elected cardinal, he was assigned the diocese of Pisa and almost became a pope. Loyalty to the Medici dynasty had the final consecration in the granting of the title of Marquis of Ponsacco and Camugliano made by Ferdinand II a Filippo di Giovanni (1586-1666) in the 1637. The other cardinal is Peter (1572- 1651), Archbishop of Florence in 1632. a half body in marble it is instead dedicated to Lorenzo Niccolini (1797 - 1868), who saved the family from the failure in which his father Giuseppe had taken him.
The ancestor Giovanni (1544-1611) had bought an important building in Florence in via de 'Servi, his father Giuseppe (1761-1811) was going to roll everything and his son Lorenzo to avoid bankruptcy in 1824 was forced to sell it but then had the right inspiration: in the 1842 he married the very rich English Caterina Stafford Price. Thanks to his wife's dowry he saved the heritage, he rehabilitated the farm and bought the Bourbon palace in Florence where he transferred the priceless historical archive of the family, still preserved today in a wing of the building and object of studies from all over the world.
Services: charming hotel in the heart of Florence
Great attention is paid to details in our building, starting from breakfast which is included and takes place from To 7.30 12.00. In the menu there is a wide selection between croissant, fruit fresh, jams, mini sandwiches, toasted bread, cereals, yogurt, desserts, eggs, meats and cheeses coming from one historic farm of the Mugello. The staff is happy to meet all the requests of the guests, if there is any particular need for food or if customers want to eat something in particular, it is provided to procure it.
The codes are provided upon arrival Wireless free and once in the room the minibar The kettle with hot drinks is included.
During the afternoon there is tea time: a small selection of tea accompanied with handmade biscuits is proposed to 17: 00 and then, towards the 18: 30, a glass of Venetian Prosecco from the estate of the Marchesa Alessandra Niccolini of Camugliano is offered with canapés.
Included among the services is access to the gym which is just a few meters away from our building.
The Staff of Camugliano is always available for reservations at restaurants or museums and to meet any need.