Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo, a charming hotel in Florence
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo, a charming hotel in Florence This little gem of a few rooms, made in an ancient aristocratic residence whose first origins date back to the Fourteenth century (here was the workshop the great sculptor Donatello), is located in the historical heart of Florence, at XNUMX mt. from Brunelleschi's dome, in the middle of the "shopping area" and at a very short distance from the main monuments and museums.
The residence has been recently renovated and guests can enjoy all the modern comforts.
The premises are characterized by large spaces, high panelled ceilings, beautiful original frescoes and furnishings of great value. Each bathroom has precious marble finishes and is equipped with separate shower and/or bathtub. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning.
This small Charming hotel, aims to give its guests a treatment comparable to what is given to friends in one’s home.
Marquises Filippo and Ginevra Niccolini are actively involved in the management together with the staff (present every day from the XNUMX to XNUMX:XNUMX) offering maximum collaboration to meet any need.
It is indeed possible to organize visits to monuments, museums, cities and shopping centres, or book various services such as the driver, the beautician, etc ...
At the time of the construction of the cathedral of Florence, (1300-1400) the houses located in the perimeter were demolished and only those that were at the north-eastern corner of the newly created square remained.
Among these, some buildings occupied the area where the Palace was erected.
It would seem that in these building some very famous artists had their workshops, among which is certainly to mention the supreme Donatello, as evidenced by the bust of the great master with the memorial plaque, placed on the facade of the building on the side of Piazza del Duomo.
It was the Naldini family who commissioned the construction of the building.
The Naldini distinguished themselves as important merchants, bankers and valiant soldiers.
In the 1532 Giovanni Naldini started purchasing the houses in this area and began transforming these into what became the Palazzo. Over the following centuries, the mansion acquired its present aspect, when the architect Pierfrancesco Silvani was commissioned to build the grand staircase of the building, the majestic windows and the entrance hall of Via dei Servi, 2.
Other important works were performed between the years 1725 and 1732, at the behest of Ottaviano Naldini (1684-1755) that commissioned the architect Pier Paolo Giovannozzi, to give the Palazzo the definitive aspect that has been handed down to the present day. In the 1763-1770 years, the owner Domenico Andrea Naldini wished to realize numerous embellishments, above all, on interiors.
Numerous rooms on the first and second floors were decorated with frescoes still in perfect conditions nowadays.
The artists called to perform these paintings were among the best known of their time: Gaspero Nannucci, Niccolò Pintucci, Tommaso Gherardini and Gennaro Landi.
The landscapes and subjects depicted are the most classic of the Eighteenth century, architecture, flowers, animals and ruins.
In the 1879 Cristina Naldini, the last descendant of her family, married the Marquis Eugenio Niccolini from Camugliano (1853-1939). Following this marriage the Palace became the property of the Niccolini family from Camugliano, who has lived there for four generations.
Today the Palazzo belongs to Filippo and Ginevra Niccolini di Camugliano.